A Tale of Two Cities (and by Cities, I Mean Customer Service Interactions)

Let’s talk about customer service. At some point in what I imagine to be most adult lives, we all touch this field in one way or another, be it via providing services to a client or actually working in a call center.

Because my job is so client-facing, it irks me when I receive a bad customer service experience. After all, if I strive to do the best for my clients and always keep a polite, calm demeanor, why can’t, say, Giant Telecom Conglomerate do the same for me? I understand everyone has their bad days – I’ve had my fair share – but were I to take out said bad day on a client, there’s a good chance I wouldn’t have a desk for very long.

In the past few weeks I’ve had two absolutely, diametrically oppositional customer service experiences: one with a delivery service, and one with Stitch Fix. In the interest of not being a complete jerk, I’ll decline to name the delivery service, but suffice it to say that when I received the wrong order, the response I was expecting was not “what do you expect us to do about it?” And after that lovely response, I certainly wasn’t expecting the restaurant in question to show up at my door at 11:30pm demanding the wrong order back. It’s been a few weeks since I called and wrote an email to request that never happen again, and I haven’t heard back.

Luckily, Stitch Fix (referral link alert) is a little bit more customer-focused. After receiving a few great fixes, I’d been disappointed with the new stylist I was assigned, and when I received a box that had nothing that was either to my taste or that flattered, I contacted Stitch Fix asking for either a replacement box or a refund of my styling fee. 

Their response? 

An apology, a make-good and a promise to try to fulfill my request for my original stylist, all within a few hours.

Guys? That’s how you do good customer service.

(Heck, as long you’re not showing up demanding a sandwich at 11:30pm, you’re probably on the right track.)

Love,

Your Gal

2 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Cities (and by Cities, I Mean Customer Service Interactions)

  1. It’s lovely to hear Stitch Fix made good and provided good customer service to you. I am such a fan myself and in the couple times I needed assistance they were very responsive to me too. ❤ Did you end up requesting the pink dress and the floral tank? 🙂 Hope you get them! XOXO, Elif

    Like

    • I did – I’m hoping to see them in my box! I was so bummed last month when I got this gorgeous moto jacket that was both too big and fake leather, so fingers crossed I get those pieces!

      Like

Leave a Reply

